Terminal Illness and Social Security

Social Security has several programs that help claimants with end-stage, terminal illness speed up their claims. Certain conditions may qualify for a compassionate allowance. (Click here for a list of these conditions.)

Additionally, if there is evidence that shows that a claimant has end-stage, terminal illness, an expedited hearing can be requested. These are called "TERI cases." A case may be designated as a TERI case if there is evidence that the claimant:

  • Has a diagnosis of terminal illness.
  • Has ALS or Lou Gehrig's Disease.
  • Has AIDS.
  • Has been receiving home or inpatient hospice care.
  • Has chronic dependence on a cardiopulmonary life-sustaining device.
  • Has chronic pulmonary or heart failure, which requires continuous home oxygen and caretaking.
  • Is awaiting a heart, heart/lung, liver, or bone marrow transplant.
  • Has a malignant cancer that has spread through the body, is at Stage IV, is persistent or recurrent following therapy, or is inoperable to unresectable.
  • Has cancer of the esophagus.
  • Has liver cancer.
  • Has pancreatic cancer.
  • Has gallbladder cancer.
  • Has Mesothelioma, small cell, or oat cell lung cancer.
  • Has brain cancer.
  • Has Acute Myelogenous Leukemia or Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia.
  • Has been comatose for 30 days.
  • Is a newborn with a lethal genetic or congenital defect.

Other conditions may also qualify a claimant for TERI status, if the condition is untreatable, and is expected to end in death.

Client Reviews
"I have been with your firm since 1999, I believe. I have already recommended the firm. Why I would it is because you have great & caring people working for you." Dawn D.
"Excellent service-- you did a great job! I would recommend McCroskey Law. Professional-- always answered questions-- very nice." George M.
"The hospitality was very great. Absolutely, I will recommend McCroskey Law. Because they really work hard for their clients. Please keep up the good work. Thank you so much." Lea J.